T20 World Cup Winners List | All Winners of T20 World Cup From 2007-2021

t20 world cup winners list

T20 cricket format emerged on the surface in 2003 and soon after that, it attracted mass attention. The first ICC T20 World Cup tournament was played in 2007 and till now 7 of these tournaments have been played. 

ICC T20 World Cup is scheduled once every two years. But, due to some schedule changes by the ICC and Covid-19 situation, it happened five years after T20 World Cup 2016.

World Cup 2021 was being played from the 17th of October to the 14th of November. And Australia won this tournament for the first time. Before, Australia hold the record for winning the 50-overs Cricket World Cup trophy 5 times. But, they were not successful in winning ICC T20 World Cup Trophy once. So, they broke the spell in the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Now, for the first time, IPL is going to happen twice in two years. So, register yourself at 24betting for IPL betting 2022 live

Also Read  Sachin Tendulkar Expresses His Views about the Upcoming World Cup 2019

Let’s go through the list of winners throughout the years and see what countries have won this title yet.  

T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2021: 

Here’s a list of all T20 World Cup winners.

T20 World Cup 2007 Champion – India

India won the first ICC T20 World Cup tournament by defeating their arch-rivals Pakistan. While Australia was defeated by the eventual champions India in the semi-finals. 

India upon winning the toss decided to bat first and they set a record of 157* to chase. While Pakistan could only make it to 152 at the loss of 10 wickets in 19.3 overs. However, Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi won the player of the series and Umer Gul was the highest wicket-taker. 

T20 World Cup 2009 Champion – Pakistan

Last time runners-up, Pakistan became T20 World Cup champion in 2009 defeating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets. However, West Indies took 3rd place in this tournament. 

In ICC T20 World Cup 2009 finals, Sri Lanka while batting first scored 138 in the limited 20 overs. And Pakistan chased the score easily at the loss of 2 wickets only. Also, Umer Gul once again won the highest wicket-taker of the tournament. And Shahid Afridi won Man of the Match for hitting the winning runs. 

Also Read  Shane Warne Slams Australian Selectors for Ridiculous Team Selections

T20 World Cup 2010 Champion – England

Next on our World Cup winners list is England. They won their 1st T20  world cup by ashes rivals Australia, when Australia was too close to winning their T20 World Cup cricket. 

Finals happened on 16 May 2010 and Australia scored 147* after batting first, which England easily chased after in 17 overs at the loss of 3 wickets. England’s Craig Kieswetter won Man of the Match for his brilliant 63 off 49 balls. 

T20 World Cup 2012 Champion – West Indies

West Indies was another Asian country to win ICC World Cup T20. They won the title after defeating Sri Lanka by 36 runs. 

The beginning of this tournament was a little hard for West Indies when they lost their first match to Australia. But, the Carrabian team, however, managed to win the trophy. Shane Watson of the Australian team was named Man of the series for his whirlwind run score. 

T20 World Cup 2014 Champion – Sri Lanka

After ending up twice as the runners-up, Sri Lanka finally won their first ICC T20 World Cup trophy. They defeated 2007 champions India by 6 wickets in the final match that was hosted in Mirpur. 

Also Read  Hardik Pandya : A Comprehensive Journey through the Cricketing Maestro's Life and Career

Sri Lanka won the title despite India’s great performance in the tournament. Virat Kohli was the highest run-getter of the tournament. But, Sri Lanka’s performance was smooth and effortless, as they lost only a single match in the tournament. 

T20 World Cup 2016 Champion – West Indies

After winning the T20 World Cup 2016, West Indies became the only country to have won ICC T20 World Cup twice. They defeated England by 4 wickets. And lost only a single match in the tournament. 

Notably, India hosted this ICC World Cup tournament. And Carlos Brathwaite’s four sixes to win the match were worth mentioning in the world of cricket. 

T20 World Cup 2021 Champion – Australia

The last T20 World Cup 2021 was hosted for the first time by Oman and UAE. And Australia finally won their first ICC World Cup T20 defeating New Zealand by 8 wickets.

Moreover, it was the first time for New Zealand when they reached the World Cup T20 finals. Australia’s Mitchell Marsh became Man of the Match for his brilliant performance. While Pakistan’s Babar Azam was the highest run-getter of the tournament. 

error: Content is protected !!